top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelulumurphy01

interview

Is it hard to be vegan?

Yes, you would think It in college being vegan it would be easier but being in college its much harder to do it. In reality, it’s much harder and most meals must be cooked at home. I also have to read everything all labels and going to places it harder. I have to bring my lunch everywhere and I have to be more creative with trying things as well. Also, be more into options at restaurants. Also, being a college students its hard-taking things free and I can’t always eat it.

What made you become vegan?

I originally started as a vegetarian because meat freaks me out, and the longer I was vegetarian I wanted to become vegan and It became easier that way. I did not eat much growing up at home so it was not a super hard transition for me as well.

What is your favorite part of being vegan?

The way I feel being vegan is one of the best feelings. I feel more energetic and I don’t feel gross or sloppy. I just feel awesome.

Is it expensive?

It is expensive and you have to learn to substitute and sometimes the food sucks that is expensive. You make sacrifices financially and make sure that they are good. It is expensive, and one of the hardest parts is that the packaging for the meatless foods are quite pricey for the amount that they give you which is a struggle. For being single it is still pricey but I get enough food for a week or so, but if I was in a relationship or lived with another vegan it could get much more costly.

Where do you get your protein

Beans Peanut butter tofu and a variety of other foods. I try to switch up the ways that I get my protein but those are the primary sources of my daily intake of protein.

What did your diet look like before being vegan?

When I did eat meat and dairy products I really did not do it as much. Eating processed meat was hard, and starting it was just an active way for me to do it. I still ate most of the same foods. It was more of an intention thing for me.

Do you think plants feel pain?

I really do not know but I do not think it is the same as animals feeling pain.

Do you enjoy being vegan

It makes me feel good.

Would you rather being vegan or vegetarian?

I love being vegan but vegetarian was much easier. The feeling of being vegan it really helps much more and my quality of life has improved. It makes me think more of what I am putting in my body.

My interview was with my roommate, I added the actual conversation above. She told me if she thought of any more detail to add that she would let me know. This interview was a little hard because my roommate did not know fully what to say and did not have as diverse answers as I would have liked. Either way, I got a good insight for some one that I could relate to on the struggles of being vegan. I also thought because I am not fully vegan currently, that for this paper and the two weeks I have to write it that I will try to be vegan myself and see how I can do it and how difficult it is.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

annotated bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Working thesis- How is veganism beneficial to humans compared to the regular meat eating diet or vegetarianism? Murphy, Lauren and Becca Ziggyfee. “ Veganism Interview.’ Feb 17.

blog post - shitty first drafts

Shitty first drafts by Anne Lamott was very interesting as well as relatable. I could really relate to her, and her writing calmed me a little when it comes to writing. When i usually start writing; I

shitty rough drafts & revisions ( woah! )

I read chapter nine in the text about revising because it is one of the biggest issues I have with writing. I have never been very good at receiving criticism with my writing because I have never been

bottom of page